Republic of Cyprus
Cyprus Joint Rescue Coordination Center - JRCC Larnaca
Home Page Secondary Units

Secondary Units

    The secondary units of the SAR system are the means and personnel who are not in a readiness for a SAR mission, but their participation may be required for major maritime or aeronautical accidents. They are the second reaction forces, which would be required to support the primary units. These forces are:

    • Groups of personnel and means from the Fire Service.

    • Groups of personnel and means from the Police Force.

    • Groups of personnel and means from the Civil Defence.

    • Air units from the Forestry Department.

    • Vessels from the Fisheries and Marine Research Department.

    • Vessels from the Cyprus Ports Authority.

    • Personnel and means from the District Administration, municipal authorities.

    • Personnel and means from the Ministry of Health and private hospitals-clinics.

    • The Social Welfare Department of the Ministry of Labor and Social Insurance.

    • The Cyprus Red Cross.

    • Other state - quasi-governmental bodies.

    • Voluntary organizations can be used in search and rescue operations. When this is decided, these bodies are placed under the operational control of the JRCC and follow its commands.

    • Lifeguard – tugs vessels from private companies

    • Civil aircraft and helicopters

No documents found




Leave a Comment

PLB Registration Form




Single European Emergency Call Number